EvoNUM


2nd European Workshop on Bio-inspired algorithms for continuous parameter optimisation

"The main application areas of EC techniques [in industry] are multi-objective optimization, classification, data mining and numerical optimization". [1]

[1] GS Hornby & T Yu, "EC Practitioners: Results of the First Survey", SIGEVOlution, Newsletter of the ACM Special Interest Group on Genetic and Evolutionary Computation, Vol. 2(1), Spring 2007 www.sigevolution.org

Many engineering problems of both theoretical and practical interest involve choosing the best configuration of a set of parameters to achieve a specified objective. Numerical optimisation refers to the case when these parameters take continuous real values, as opposed to combinatorial optimisation, which deals with discrete values. Examples include designing production processes for maximum efficiency, optimal parameter adjustment for controllers and many others. EvoNUM focuses on such problems.

We seek high quality papers involving the application of bio-inspired algorithms (genetic algorithms, genetic programming, evolution strategies, differential evolution, particle swarm optimization, evolutionary programming, simulated annealing... and their hybrids) to continuous optimisation problems in engineering. We also welcome cross-fertilisation between Nature-inspired algorithms and more classical numerical optimisation algorithms.

EvoNUM deals with engineering applications where continuous parameters or functions have to be optimised, in fields such as control, chemistry, agriculture, electricity, building and construction, energy, aerospace engineering, design optimisation...

EvoNUM aims to cover areas that include but are not limited to:
  • Local learning of parameters
  • Mechanisms to incorporate constraints
  • Theoretical developments
  • Performance measures and performance analysis
  • Benchmark problems

Publication details
Accepted papers will be published in a volume of the
Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science together with papers from other workshops of the EvoStar conference.

For the list of accepted papers click here.

lines_blue_078
Submission Details

  • Please use LNCS format    

  • Submissions should be no more than 10 pages in english

  • As we are adopting a double-blind peer review process, please ensure to anonymise your submission by removing all references to the authors.


lines_blue_078
Chairs

Program Chairs

Anna I Esparcia-Alcázar - Instituto Tecnológico de Informática, Spain - aesparcia@iti.upv.es
Anikó Ekárt - Aston University, United Kingdom - a.ekart@aston.ac.uk

EvoNUM Programme Committee

Alfaro, Eva, Instituto Tecnologico de Informatica, Spain - evalfaro@iti.upv.es
Auger, Anne, INRIA, France - anne.auger@lri.fr
Banzhaf, Wolfgang, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada - banzhaf@cs.mun.ca
Beyer, Hans-Georg, FH Vorarlberg, Austria - Hans-Georg.Beyer@fhv.at
Blasco, Xavier, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain - xblasco@isa.upv.es
Chen, Ying-ping, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan - ypchen@csie.nctu.edu.tw
Cotta, Carlos, Universidad de Malaga, Spain - ccottap@lcc.uma.es
Deb, Kalyanmoy, Helsinki School of Economics, Finland - Kalyanmoy.Deb@hse.fi
Ebner, Marc, Universität Würzburg, Germany - ebner@informatik.uni-wuerzburg.de
Fernández, Francisco, Universidad de Extremadura, Spain - fcofdez@unex.es
Hansen, Nikolaus, INRIA,France - Nikolaus.Hansen@lri.fr
Langdon, W.B., University of Essex, UK - wlangdon@essex.ac.uk
Merelo, JJ, Universidad de Granada, Spain - jmerelo@geneura.ugr.es
Naujoks, Boris, University of Dortmund, Germany - Boris.Naujoks@uni-dortmund.de
Ochoa, Gabriela, University of Nottingham, UK - gxo@cs.nott.ac.uk
O'Reilly, Una-May, MIT, USA - unamay@csail.mit.edu
Preuss, Mike, University of Dortmund, Germany - Mike.Preuss@uni-dortmund.de
Rudolph, Günter, University of Dortmund, Germany - Guenter.Rudolph@uni-dortmund.de
Schoenauer, Marc, INRIA, France
Schwefel, Hans-Paul, University of Dortmund, Germany - hps@udo.edu
Suganthan, P.N., Nanyang Technological University, Singapore -epnsugan@ntu.edu.sg
Tang, Ke, University of Science and Technology of China, China - ketang@ustc.edu.cn
Whitley, Darrell, Colorado State University, USA - whitley@cs.colostate.edu



Publicity Chair

Ivanoe De Falco, ICAR, National Research Council of Italy, Italy - ivanoe.defalco(at)na.icar.cnr.it

Evo* Local Chair
Marc Ebner, Universität Tübingen,Germany - marc.ebner(at)wsii.uni-tuebingen.de

Evo* Coordinator and Administrative Contact
Jennifer Willies, The Centre for Informatics Research, Napier University, Scotland, UK. - j.willies(at)napier.ac.uk