The European Conference on Evolutionary Computation, Machine Learning and Data Mining in Bioinformatics is a multidisciplinary conference that brings together researchers working in Bioinformatics that apply advanced techniques coming from Evolutionary Computation, Machine Learning, and Data Mining to address important problems in molecular biology, proteomics, genomics and genetics. The primary focus of the conference is to present the latest advances of these approaches for Bioinformatics and to provide a forum for the discussion of new research directions.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • biomarker discovery
  • cell simulation and modelling
  • ecological modelling
  • fluxomics
  • gene networks
  • high-throughput biotechnology
  • metabolomics
  • microarray analysis
  • phylogeny
  • protein interaction
  • proteomics
  • sequence analysis and alignment
  • biological networks analysis
  • systems biology

EvoBIO started in 2002 as workshop organized by the EvoNet (European Network of Excellence in Evolutionary Computation) working group on bioinformatics, and has been held annually since then.
The conference will be held in conjunction with the
EuroGP (12th European Conference on Genetic Programming), EvoCOP 2009 (9th European Conference on Evolutionary Computation in Combinatorial Optimisation) and EvoWorkshops 2009, the specialist workshops on a range of evolutionary computation topics and applications.
Each accepted paper will be presented orally or as a poster at the conference and will be printed in the proceedings published by Springer Verlag in the LNCS series.
The accepted papers of the previous editions of EvoBIO were published in the Springer Verlag LNCS 2611, 3005, 3449, 3907, 4447,
4973 respectively.

For the list of accepted papers click here.

Submission Details

  • Please use LNCS format

  • Submissions should be no more than 12 pages in english

  • As we are adopting a double-blind peer review process, please ensure to anonymise your submission by removing all references to the authors.

  • Link to submit your camera-ready paper


Program Chairs
Clara Pizzuti, ICAR, National Research Council of Italy, Italy - pizzuti(at)
Marylyn Ritchie, Vanderbilt University, USA - ritchie(at)

EvoBio Programme Committee
Aguilar-Ruiz Jesus, Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Spain
Banzhaf Wolfgang, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
Blazewicz Jacek, Poznan University of Technology, Poland
Boczko Erik, Vanderbilt University, USA
Congdon Clare Bates, University of Southern Maine, USA
Cotta Carlos, University of Malaga, Spain
Divina Federico, Pablo de Olavide University Seville, Spain
Eppstein Maggie, University of Vermont, USA
Freitas Alex, University of Kent, UK
Fogel Gary, Natural Selection, Inc., USA
Frasconi Paolo, Universita' degli Studi di Firenze, Italy
Fraternali Franca, King's College, UK
Giugno Rosalba, University of Catania, Italy
Hamel Lutz, University of Rhode Island, USA
Hao Jin-Kao, University of Angers, France
Heskes Tom, Radboud University Nijmegen, NL
Huber Katharina, University of East Anglia, UK
van Kampen Antoine, Universiteit van Amsterdam, NL
Koyuturk Mehmet, Case Western Reserve University, USA
Krasnogor Natalio, University of Nottingham, UK
Langdon Bill, Essex University, UK
Lio' Pietro, University of Cambridge, UK
Lones Michael, University of York, UK
Marbach Daniel, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Marchiori Elena, Radboud University Nijmegen, NL
Martin Andrew, University College London, UK
McKinney Brett, University of Alabama Birmingham, USA
Meiler Jens, Vanderbilt University, USA
Moore Jason, H. Dartmouth University, USA
Moscato Pablo, The University of Newcastle, Australia
Moulton Vincent, University of East Anglia, UK
Ng See-Kiong, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore
Orsenigo Carlotta, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Giancarlo Raffaele, Università di Palermo, Italy
Raymer Michael, Wright State University, USA
Rowland Jem, Aberystwyth University, UK
Rojo Raul Giraldez, Pablo de Olavide University, Spain
Rombo Simona, Università della Calabria, Italy
Sezerman Ugur, Sabanci University, Turkey
Smith Marc L., Vassar College, USA
Srinvasan Balaji, Stanford University, USA
Talbi El-Ghazali, Université des Sciences et Technologies de Lille Sciences, France
Trudgian Dave, Oxford University, UK
Ye Kai, Leiden Amsterdam Center for Drug Research, NL
Urso Alfonso M., ICAR-CNR, Italy
Vercellis Carlo, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Walshe Ray, Dublin City University, Ireland
Williams Tiffani, Texas A&M University, USA
Volkert Gwenn, Kent State University, USA
Zell Andreas, University of Tübingen, Germany
Zitzler Eckart, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Zupan Blaz, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia

Publicity Chair
Ivanoe De Falco, ICAR, National Research Council of Italy, Italy - ivanoe.defalco(at)

Evo* Local Chair
Marc Ebner, Universität Tübingen,Germany - marc.ebner(at)

Evo* Coordinator and Administrative Contact
Jennifer Willies, The Centre for Informatics Research, Napier University, Scotland, UK. - j.willies(at)